Animation Project: Scribble Animation Storyboard and Tests

To help come up with some ideas and to test out my animation techniques I devised some storyboards which helped me plan what more to do.

sb2

sb1

These are very quick and rough, but they have a basic narrative. I scribble on a piece of paper then the scribble then becomes “alive”. It runs across the desk and up my hand, then I flick it away. I like this idea because it fits my theme for a “bête noire” and the concept is quite short and simple. It also means I have a reason to play around with overlaying 3D motion capture onto film. I don’t think the basics of it should be hard to do, modelling a scribble should be quite easy, but making sure the camera is mapped properly might be quite hard.

scribble test

Here’s some tests of different scribble designs I did. Although it seems quite pointless, you can really get a different sense of emotion from the different strokes and volumes of the scribbles.

scribble gif

I decided to test out animating the scribble using stop motion and drawing it on different  layers of paper then hiding them. I think it has worked really well, and the scribble really looks like it is alive. Although one thing I would change is I would use a tripod next time. As I took these pictures on my phone the camera is quite shaky and this does hinder the illusion quite a bit.

hand gif

Another thing I tried out is drawing whilst taking  pictures in order to speed up the process and have shots of my hand. However I soon realised that taking pictures one handed is not a smart idea and I failed to get much out of this test.

fox walk fox run fox run fox walk 4

As the scribble test was quite sucessful, I tried out some walk and run cycles using the scribble fox design. Hopefully this should work really well using these techniques I have just tested and I could use Flash or Photoshop to digitally over the drawn fox onto my hand.

The next thing to try is getting some videos of my hand and me drawing as I think this would be easier to do than if I were to do it using stop motion.  I would also like to try creating a 3D scribble and animating it on my hand. I would love to also animate a 3d scribble fox but I realise that I probably won’t have time to do that within the scope of this project.

Leave a Reply

